Broadcasting Hall of Fame

Minnesota's Pavek Museum of Broadcasting is dedicated to recognizing, documenting and preserving an industry that has made enormous impact on the evolution of society. Twenty-three Brown College alumni have been inducted into the hall of fame, along with our founders. Synopses of their contributions and achievements are listed below. For more information, visit http//

  • Richard & Helen Brown founded the American Institute of the Air, now Brown College, in 1946. The couple maintained a genuine concern for each student and all staff. They retired in 1978. Their legacy continues to have an immeasurable influence in media and broadcasting
  • Roger Awsumb spent more than 50 years in broadcasting. He worked for a variety of radio and television stations, such as KLKS Breezy Point and WCCO TV Minneapolis/St. Paul.
  • Jerry Dahlberg spent all of his five decades in broadcasting at KROX Crookston.
  • Don Dresser worked in broadcasting for more than 30 years, spending most of his time at WDAY Fargo. He retired in 1994.
  • Roy Finden was a talented broadcaster, but his greatest contributions to the industry have been as a teacher. He trained thousands of broadcasters during his 35 years at Brown. He retired in 2001.
  • Harley Flathers overcame polio as a young man. After attending the American Institute of the Air, he worked at several radio stations throughout southeastern Minnesota, including KROC Rochester.
  • Ned Goodwin has had a long and distinguished career. He's worked at numerous radio stations, including KBHP Bemidji. He's also served as director and officer of the Minnesota Broadcasters Association.
  • Marc Kalman has been in radio for more than 35 years. He's worked in both large and small markets and fulfilled many different positions. In 2005, he began as the ABC/Minneapolis President/GM.
  • Mike Kronforst worked in radio and television for 8 years in Illinois and Wisconsin. Mike joined the Brown College Faculty in 1972, and continued to work at KEEY FM as staff announcer and in the KMSP TV weather center. Mike was inducted in the Broadcasters Hall of Fame and for his service and dedication to students. Mike has held multiple positions at Brown and still serves as a freelance voice talent.
  • Daryl Laub defined versatility in his fifty hears in radio and television. He's been an actor, announcer, program director, children's show host and sales manager. He retired in 1993.
  • Jack Lynch worked at KWLM Willmar for five decades. He retired in 1986.
  • Jerry Miller was a skilled engineer known for his professionalism, concern, involvement and compassion. He worked for WCCO for 32 years as chief engineer.
  • Don Olson & Sylvia Olson-Christiansen are the only couple to receive the Minnesota Broadcasters Association's Pioneer Broadcaster award. He entered the broadcasting business in 1949 and she entered in 1960. They retired in 1982.
  • Jim Rohn has worked in broadcasting for six decades. He's touched the lives of many listeners and viewers in Minnesota and North Dakota while working at several radio stations, like KCMT FM Alexandria.
  • Rod Trongard had a distinctive voice that was part of the lives of listeners and viewers throughout the Midwest for over fifty years. He broadcast hundreds of athletic events throughout his career.
  • Howard Viken spent 30 years at WCCO radio. He went on to become one of the most recognized names in his home state of Minnesota.
  • Jim Wychor was a broadcaster at many radio stations throughout the country before finding a home at KWOA AM/FM Worthington. He spent 26 years there and has been an outstanding advocate for the broadcast industry.
  • Dean Sorenson founded Sorenson Broadcasting Company and eventually owned 22 radio stations in Minnesota, Iowa and the Dakotas. Dean has served on the boards of the National Association of Broadcasters and the Radio Advertising Bureau.
  • Ed DeLaHunt and his wife, Carol, are the owners and founders of KPRM and KDKK Radio in Park Rapids, Minnesota. They now own a total of seven radio stations in the area and Ed continues to do a daily radio show.
  • Wayne Eddy is the former owner and manager of KYMN Radio in Northfield, Minnesota. He has served as President of the Minnesota Broadcasters Association, has been involved with the Pavek Museum of Broadcasting since it started and has been one of the Brown Radio Department's Program Advisory Committee members. Wayne still does a daily radio show at his old station in Northfield.
  • Andy Hilger first purchased WJON Radio in St. Cloud, Minnesota in 1965 and later added three more FM stations in the area. Andy's company also brought cable television to the St. Cloud area.
  • Vic, Nick and Al Tedesco are the colorful Tedesco brothers who jointly or separately owned 14 radio stations in Minnesota, Wisconsin and around the country.

To learn more about Brown College, our degree programs or how to apply for admission, please contact us for more information.